Symphony No. 40 in G minor by Mozart

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Aabir
  • Created on: 29-03-16 13:36


  • The Classical era was from 1750 to 1825
  • There was development from the chamber orchestra, for instance the clarinet was invented and the harpsichord was used less often
  • New instruments increased the dynamic range of the orchestra
  • Composers included Mozart, Beethoven and Haydn


  • The piece is in sonata form
  • The exposition includes a 1st subject, a bridge, a 2nd subject and a short codetta
  • The development develops the melodic ideas introduced in the exposition, and includes rapid modulation
  • The recapitulation includes a 1st subject almost identical to that of the exposition. However, the bridge is 27 bars longer for stuctural balance, and the codetta is replaced by a longer coda.


  • The piece is in G minor
  • The first subject starts in G major, then the bridge modulates to the relative major, Bb major
  • The development undergoes rapid molulation in a circle of fifths: Em -> Am -> Dm -> G -> C -> F ->Bb
  • The whole recapitulation stays in G minor, allowing the piece to end on the key in which it started


  • The melody is balanced, with four or eight bar phrases
  • The first subject is scalic, based on the scale of G minor
  • The main motif, introduced in bars 1 to 5, is a repeated idea of E-D-D three times, ending with a leap of a sixth
  • There is then a descending melodic


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all Mozart resources »