Structure 'Wuthering Heights'

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Lauren
  • Created on: 17-01-13 20:21
  • Some versions of 'Wuthering Heights' are split into two volumes that act as stories told one after the other. 
  • The first volume is about Catherine Earnshaw's relationship with Heathcliff and Edgar Linton. 
  • The second volume traces the course of Catherine Linton's relationship with her two cousins, Linton Heathcliff and Hareton Earnshaw. 
  • It has long been recognised that the stories have much in common and this is usually attributed to 'repetition', a view which emphasises the choronolgical sequence of events. 
  • Critics have always been more interested in volume one involving the Cathy-Heathcliff plot, not only because it is more vivid, but also because it is also considered that the events in volume one determine the events in volume 2. 
  • There is also a parallel between the two families the Linton's and the Earnshaw's who both have 1 daughter and 1 son 
  • Multi-layered narration, each indivdual narration opening out from its parent to reveal a new level of the story. This helps the story seem continuous despite the huge shifts in time.
  • There is a framed…


No comments have yet been made

Similar English Literature resources:

See all English Literature resources »See all Wuthering Heights resources »