Stages of sleep

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Njsmith1
  • Created on: 07-05-14 20:49


= ultradian rhythm
Sleep can be measured by:
1) Eye movement (EOG - Electro-oculogram)
2) Muscle movement (EMG - Electromyogram)
3) Electrical activity/trainwaves (EEG - electroence-phalograph)

There are 2 main types of sleep...
Slow wave sleep (SWS - 4stages)
Rapid eye movement (REM)

In stage 2 we experience sleep spindles = Periodic bursts of fast spiking activity which lasts 1-2 seconds.

K complex - Our response to external stimuli, e.g, sudden muscle tightening. Our sleep cycles occur 3-4 times a night - 1,2,3,4,3,2,REM,2,3,4 etc. 

AWAKE - ALPHA - desynchronised brain waves with no set pattern


No comments have yet been made

Similar Psychology resources:

See all Psychology resources »See all Sleep resources »