HideShow resource information


  • They are usually a fourteen line lyric poem
  • Written in Iambic Pentameter
  • There are two types: Petrachan and Shakespearian
  • Petrachan - there are two main parts called the octet (8 lines) and the sestet (6 lines). The octet and sestet are usually contrasted in some kind of way for example: the octet may ask a question which the sestet might answer or a volta occurs at the


No comments have yet been made

Similar English Language & Literature resources:

See all English Language & Literature resources »See all The sonnet forms resources »