Poor Law Commission

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Abigail
  • Created on: 28-02-14 17:41


  • this was established to look over the Poor Law Amendment Act
  • there were three commissioners;
    - Thomas Frankland Lewis
    - George Nicholls
    - John Shaw Lefevre
  • they were based in Somerset House, London
  • Edwin Chadwich, who was behind the report into Poor Laws, hoped to become a commissioner but was instead made secretary to the commission
  • he was bitter about this so he therefore clashed frequently with the commissioners
  • 9 assisstant commissioners' jobs created - their job was to make sure the decisions made in Somerset House were implemented locally


  • they were independent part of Parliament which both a strong and weak link
  • they had no spokesperson in Parliament to defend any criticism so people's assumptions were never denied
  • in the press, books and journals, they were slammed
  • they did however have a poweful constitutional position
  • the commissioners could draw up regulations and monitor their implementation
  • they had a good range of negative powers to use
  • they could refuse certain types of…


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all Modern Britain from 1750 resources »