Politics A2 4D - Conflict, War and Terrorism, Major Nuclear Arms Control Agreements

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Abs
  • Created on: 07-05-11 13:17

1959 Antartic Treaty - prohibits weapons testing and deployment in Antartica (multilateral)

1963 Partial Test Ban Treaty - bans atmospheric, underwater and outer-space nuclear tests (multilateral) 

1967 Outer Space Treaty - bans the deployment of nuclear weapons in space

1968 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) - a. prohibits the aquisition of nuclear weapons by non-nuclear states. b. commits the 5 recognised nuclear powers to the reduction and removal of their weapons over time (multilateral)

1972 Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty 1 (SALT 1) - limits strategic nuclear weapons


No comments have yet been made

Similar Government & Politics resources:

See all Government & Politics resources »See all Global issues resources »