Mozart: Symphony No. 40 in G minor

HideShow resource information

Classical period- Viennese classical style


  • Sonata form (a large scale ternary form)
  • Exposition, Development, Recapitulation


  • Tonic= G minor (Bb, Eb, with the accidental F#)
  • Bb major (relative major) (Bb, Eb) for 2nd subject in Exposition, and into the closing section (codetta)
  • Development moves through a variety of keys, then gives us the 'dominant preparation' to return us to G minor..
  • Recapitulation remains centred around G minor


  • Simple diatonic harmony
  • Some use of


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all Mozart resources »