HideShow resource information

Labour is the Process of Giving Birth, which is started by Hormones.

Labour has Three Stages.

Stage 1

This is when the Muscles in the Uterus Dilate the Cervix to 8-10cm. This is wide enough for the Babies Head to pass through.

Signs that Labour has Started;

  • A Show (When the Plug of Mucus sealing the Cervix comes away)
  • Contractions
  • Waters Breaking
  • Backache, Nausea, Vomiting and Diarrheoa.

Contractions are Weak and Irregular to start with. They Gradually become Stronger, more Intense and Closer Together. Contractions are when the Uterus becomes Tight and then Relaxes.

Braxton Hicks Contractions can be felt after 32 Weeks. They are only 'Practice' Contractions and are Eractic, Uncomfortable and Rather Painful.

When the Waters Break (Rupturing of the Membrane), the Amniotic Fluid should be Clear…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Health & Social Care resources:

See all Health & Social Care resources »See all Exams resources »