History of Education

HideShow resource information

Education Reform Act: 6 main features:

- A National Curriculum (ages 5-11).

-National Tests at 7,11 and 14 (SATs).

-Local Managmenet of school budgets (LMS).

-Opting out (grant maintained schools).

-Ofsted- a new inspection regime for schools.

National Curriculum:

-A government sanctioned common curriculum for pupils aged 5-16.

-Shifted responsibility for what was to be taught away from teachers to central government. Three core and seven foundation subjects.

National Tests:

- Compulsory National tests (SATs) were introduced at 7,11, and 14.


No comments have yet been made

Similar Sociology resources:

See all Sociology resources »See all Education resources »