German unification: before, during and after Napoleon

  • Created by: Abigail
  • Created on: 15-11-13 09:32

By 1815:

  • there was no single German state
  • by 1800, 23 million Germans were divided into 314 states
  • the states were controlled slightly under the influence of the Holy Roman Emperor (who was also the Emperor of Austria
  • Germany at this point lacked any frontiers
  • aside from Austria, the only other state that had real power and dominance was Prussia
  • in 1805-6, Napoleon Bonaparte I defeated Austria then Prussia, forcing the Empire to collapse

Napoleon's impact:

  • on the left of the Rhine, France had annexed the territory
  • Napoleon decided that obviously 314 stated were far too many, especially since some of the states were actually single cities. So he re-organised them into 39
  • not…


No comments have yet been made