Four stages of awakening

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: gemshort
  • Created on: 18-05-18 19:22

In Theravada Buddhism, the means to enlightenment is through the Eightfold Path

  • This takes a long time to cultivate
  • Some do not aspire to nirvana during this life as it may take several lives to perfect - those who do realise nirvana are the arhats

There are different stages to be realised on the way to becoming an arhat:

  • Stream-enterer (sotapanna)
  • Once-returner (sakadagami)
  • Non-returner (anagama)
  • Worthy one (arhat)

All stages are close to full and complete enlightenment and have experienced 'dharma vision'

  • The arhat enters parinirvana at


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Buddhism resources »