F212PLN Structure of Local Govt

HideShow resource information

There are many different types of local authority in England, but not all of them are LPAs. Currently, there are two systems of control for land use. They are referred to as:

The two-tier system and The unitary or single-tier sys

The two-tier system
County councils continue to be responsible for strategic planning on waste disposal and minerals. The lower tier, comprising what are variously named district or borough councils, is responsible for detailed local planning. The councils are charged with producing local plans, which are now being replaced by local development frameworks under the 2004 Act. Areas where the two-tier system currently…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Law resources:

See all Law resources »