Electromagnetic Radiation

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: kira
  • Created on: 18-06-11 19:20

(notes taken from the CGP revision guides)

  • There are seven types of electromagnetic (EM) waves.
  • Light is just one type of EM radiation. EM radiation occurs at many different wavelengths. 
  • There is a continuous spectrum of different wavelengths, but waves with similar wavelengths tend to have similar properties. Electromagnetic radiation is normally split in to 7 different types of waves:

Radio waves,  Microwaves, Infrared, Visible light, Ultraviolet, X-rays, Gamma rays,

(from left to right is increasing frequency)

(from right to left is increasing wavelength)

  • All types of electromagnetic radiation travel at exactly the same speed through space, which is a vacuum. This speed is very fast.
  • This means that waves with a shorter wavelength have a


No comments have yet been made

Similar Science resources:

See all Science resources »See all Waves resources »