Classification Basics

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: tiacoles
  • Created on: 27-04-16 15:33

Classification is the act of arranging organisms into groups based in their similarities and differences. Taxonomy is the study of classification. Classification depends on placing organisms into groups in a taxonomic hierarchy.

There are eight levels:

  • Domain
  • Kingdom
  • Phylum
  • Class
  • Order
  • Family
  • Genus
  • Species

Naming species

The nomenclature used for classification is called the binomial system. The first part of the name is the genus and the second part is the species. Written in italics or


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Human, animal and plant physiology resources »