• Created by: gemshort
  • Created on: 30-04-18 18:55

The key to understanding how the Buddha is seen, according to the Three Vehicles, is the Buddhist doctrine of the Three Bodies of the Buddha, or the Trikaya doctrine. The three kayas refer to three aspects of buddhahood, or three dimensions of the enlightened mind

  • Dharmakaya: the body of truth
  • Sambhogakaya: the body of enjoyment
  • Nirmanakaya: the body of manifestation

Dharmakaya - images used are a clear and cloudless sky, or infinite space

  • Refers to the enlightened mind itself, the complete realisation of the truth of all things
  • It is beyond words and cannot be described in ordinary language

Sambhogakaya - one image used is the brilliant sun in a cloudless sky

  • Refers to the dimension of energy and light in which enlightened beings…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Buddhism resources »