Buddhism and Science

HideShow resource information

The Five Precepts:

1. I undertake to abstain from taking life

2. I undertake to abstain from taking what is not freely given

3. I undertake to refrain from the misuse of the senses

4. I undertake to abstain from wrong speech

5. I undertake to abstain from drugs and alcahol that cloud the mind

The Noble Eighthfold Path:

The Way of Wisdom - 

  • Right View
  • Right intention

The Way of Morality-

  • Right Speech
  • Right action
  • Right Livelihood

The Way of Mental Training-

  • Right Concentration
  • Right mindfullness
  • Right Effort

The Three Universal Truths:

Annica - Impermanence

Anatta - No Self

Dukkah- Suffering

The Four Noble Truths:

Dukkah - suffering

Samudaya - Origin of suffering

Nirodha - Cessation of suffering

Magga-  The way to the cessation of suffering

Buddhists should act with metta ( loving kindness) and karuna ( compassion)

No specific teachings about creation - buddha believed the answer he would give would be mere speculation

Buddhists do not believe in a creator God

Paticcasamupada - dependant origination - therefore do not see human beings as seperate from the environment - all life is interdependent.  

Greed and ignorance ( 2 of the 3 poisons) keeps us tied to the wheel of samsara ( samsara is passing from one body to another in the cycle of life) 

The law of kamma or karma states that our actions have consequences , the idea that we have been born many times and are likely to be born again is more likely to encourage buddhists to consider the long term effects…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Buddhism resources »