Biology 11.3 The Cell Cycle

  • Created by: Anna
  • Created on: 27-04-13 17:19

The cell cycle

Cells don't divide continuously, they undergo regular cycle of division separated by periods of cell growth = cell cycle.

Three stages:

1) Interphase = occupies most of the cell cycle, known as resting phase (no division takes place), divided into 3 parts:

  • First growth (G1) phase - proteins produced that synthesise organelles.
  • Synthesis (S) phase - DNA is replicated.
  • Second growth (G2) phase - organelles grow and divide, energy stores are released.

2) Nuclear division = nucleas divides into two or four (mitosis or meiosis).

3) Cell division = process by which whole cell…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Cellular processes and structure resources »