B1- classification notes.

HideShow resource information

All species in the world are Classified on  their similarities and differences.  they are put into five different kingdoms: 

  • Plataea (trees, mosses) - multicellular, have cell walls, have chlorophyll, feed autotrophically (photosynthesis) 
  • Animalia (fish, amphibians)- multicellular, do not have cell walls, do not have chlorophyll, feed heterotrophically (do not make own food)
  • Fungi (agaricus, Rhizopus)- multicellular, or unicellular, have cell walls, do not have chlorophyll, feed Saprophytically (extra cells for digestion of dead organic matter  )
  • Protoctista (euglena)- unicellular, have a nucleus.
  • Prokaryotes- unicellular, do not have an nucleus. 

These kingdoms are then split up into smaller groups. the groups are: 

  • Phyla
  • classes 
  • orders 
  • families 
  • genera 
  • species 

Species are groups of related living organisms that have many feature in common. They can also be defined as; organisms that can


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Variety of life and classification resources »