Area of Study 1 - Chopin - Raindrops

HideShow resource information

Chopin - Raindrops


Raindrops, by Chopin, is often referred to as the raindrop prelude because of the repeated quavers, the pedal note, and the falling melodic phrases (e.g. opening notes of the Db major broken chord) It comes from a set of 24 preludes that Chopin composed, one in each of the 12 major and 12 minor keys. It was written in 1839, for the amateur pianist, and to be performed in a home or small concert hall.


The melody is mostly lyrical and is played on the right hand, often developed and decorated with ornaments including acciaccaturas and turns. However, the melody moves to the left hand in section B, and plays a narrower range with notes lasting for a longer duration. Dotted rhythms and chromaticism are features found in the melody, which is mainly made up of phrases that are four or eight bars long.


The time signature is 4/4 with four crotchets in a bar. Sostenuto is marked at the beginning of the score, meaning the piece should be played with legato in an unhurried manner. Repeated quavers are played throughout the piece to represent gentle raindrops Rubato is used during the performance, meaning that the tempo is flexible for the performer to be more expressive and emotional.


The prelude begins in D major, though modulates to its


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all Chopin resources »