AQA PSYA3 - Biological Rhythms - Sleep's Ultradian Rhythm

HideShow resource information


Sleep Stages

Two main distinct forms of sleep: 

  • REM (rapid eye movement)
  • NREM (non-rapid eye movement).

EEG's measure electrical activity in the brain and show the stages of sleep.

  • Clear wave form = synchronised 
  • Unclear wave form = desynchronised
  • Awake = fast desynchronised wave form.
  • Synchronised wave forms are defined by frequency (Hz) and amplitude (size)

The stages of sleep on an EEG: (the first 4 stages are NREM)

  • Awake: Beta wave; fast and desynchronised
  • Relaxed: Alpha wave; slower, more regular, greater amplitude
  • Stage 1: Light sleep shown by theta waves with small amplitude (4-7Hz). Also…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Psychology resources:

See all Psychology resources »See all Sleep resources »