14.1 - Structure of Ribonucleic Acid

HideShow resource information
  • The code is a degenerate code, meaning most amino acids have more than one codon.
  • Three codons do not code for any amino acid. These are called stop codons and mark the end of a polypeptide chain.
  • The code is non-overlapping - each base in the sequence is read only once.
  • It is universal code so the same codon codes for the same…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Biological molecules, organic chemistry and biochemistry resources »