The Treaty of Versailles

All the territorial, military,war and financial terms included in the Treaty of Versailles.

HideShow resource information

Territorial terms:

  • Alsace-Lorraine was returned to France
  • West Posen, Upper Silesia and Posen were given to Poland
  • Eupen Halmedy was lost to Belgium
  • Danzig was taken over by the League of Nations as a free city
  • Hemel was taken over by the League and eventually given to Lithuania in 1923
  • The Saarland was taken over by the League of Nations for 15 years
  • Germany lost all of its overseas colonies. They were run by the victorious powers on behalf of the League of Nations.

Page 1

1 of 4

Military terms:

  • Germany were not allowed military aircrafts or submarines
  • Their navy was reduced to six battleships and 15,000 sailors
  • Their army was reduced to 100,000
  • The Rhineland area was demilitarised - This meant that there were no German armed forces allowed in the area. Allied troops occupied the area for 15 years.

Page 2

2 of 4

Reparations (financial terms):

  • The War Guilt Clause meant that the victorious powers could demand compensation from Germany for damage caused by the war
  • This was known as reparations
  • In 1921 the Reparations Commission fixed the sum at £6,600 million, which had to be paid in annual instalments.

Page 3

3 of 4

War Guilt:

  • Article 231 of the treaty said that Germany was to blame for causing the war
  • This was the term that the Germans most resented
  • The Germans believed that other countries had caused the war and that Germany had gone only in self-defence

Page 4

4 of 4


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all Causes and effects of WW1 resources »