The Suffragists and Suffragettes Background


Union Names

The Suffragists: National Union of Women's Suffrage Societies (NUWSS)


The Suffragettes: Women's Social and Political Union (WSPU)

1 of 3

The Suffragists

  • 1866: Campaigners collected 1500 signatures for votes for women
  • 1867: Lydia Becker formed Manchester Society for Women's Suffrage
  • After the petition failure they started writing, lecturing and organising more petitions
  • 1897: Millicent Fawcett joined many orgainsations together and stayed president for over 20 years
  • 1914: Over 400 branches and 100,000 members
  • It was a democratic organisation
  • Many women were middle class
  • Men were allowed to join
  • Also wanted to improve married women's rights
2 of 3

The Suffragettes

  • 1903: Founded by Emmeline Pankhurst
  • Slogan: Deeds not Words
  • Pankhurst controlled as was impatient with WSPU peaceful methods
  • 1905: Christabel Pankhurst and Annie Kenney spat at  and hit policeman
    • They were charged with assault and sentenced to 7 days imprisonment
    • 20,000 people waited outside the prison when she was released
  • Men were not allowed to join
  • 1906: Moved headquarters to London
  • There it recruited middle and upper class however working class membership fell
  • Militancy was news!
3 of 3


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all Modern Britain - 19th century onwards resources »