The five Pillars

Five Pillars-base of beliefs-Islam

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: shazi
  • Created on: 17-04-10 15:17

The five Pillars

Part of submission to will of Allah-Muslims must follow five pillars- visible signs of way of life + unity of Ummah


Declaration of faith 'There is no god but Allah; Muhammad is the messenger of Allah'


Compulsory prayer 5 times daily

  • Fajr
  • Zuhr
  • 'Asr
  • Maghrib
  • 'Isha'
1 of 3


Purification of wealth- 2.5% of surplus income given annually

Began in al-Madinah-orphans + widows to be looked after

Regard wealth as a gift from Allah- benefit of humanity + should be shared

Sign of brotherhood + unity

Benefits givers- frees them from greed, materialism, selfishness

Helps spiritual growth- often linked with Salah

2 of 3


Pilgrimage to Makkah- during month of Duhl-Hijjah

Once in a lifetime-physically + mentally fit, sufficent funds


Fasting- month of Ramadan- daylight hours

Time testing oneself to limits, prayer, good deeds

Time when Qur'an was first revealed to Muhammad

Allah looks down with special favour on humanity

3 of 3


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Islam resources »