Christian Values

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Maria
  • Created on: 17-05-13 11:39

The Beatitudes

The eight Beatitudes in Matthew 5:3-12 during the Sermon on the Mount each begins with:

Blessed are...

  • ...the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (5:3)
  • ...those who mourn: for they will be comforted. (5:4)
  • ...the meek: for they will inherit the earth. (5:5)
  • ...those who hunger and thirst for righteousness: for they will be filled. (5:6)
  • ...the mercifull: for they will be shown mercy. (5:7)
  • ...the pure in heart: for they will see God. (5:8)
  • ...the peacemakers: for they will be called children of God. (5:9)
  • ...those who are persecuted for righteousness' sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. (5:10)
1 of 2

The Commandments

  1. You shall have no other gods before me.
  2. You shall not make for yourself any carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above.
  3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
  4. Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.
  5. Honor your father and your mother.
  6. You shall not murder.
  7. You shall not commit adultery.
  8. You shall not steal.
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his donkey, nor anything that is your neighbor’s.

2 of 2


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Christianity resources »