Tectonic plates

This is an over view of the earths structure. Enjoy.

Tectonic plates

The earth consists of four concentric layers: inner core, inner core, mantle and crust. The crust is made up of tectonic plates, which are in constant motion. Earthquakes and volcanoes are most are most likely to occur at plate boundaries.

The earth is made up of four distinct layers:
1. The inner core is in the centre and is the hottest part of the earth. It is solid and made up up of iron and nickel with temperature of up to 5'000^c.with its immense heat energy, the inner core is like the engine room of the earth.
2. The outer core is the layer surrounding the inner core. It is liquid layer, also made up of iron and nickel. It is still extremely hot with tempatures similar to the inner core.
3. The mantle is the widest section of the earth. It has a diameter of approximately 2,900km. The mantle is made up of semi-molten rock called magma. In the upper parts of the mantle the rock is hard, but lower down the rock is soft and beginning to melt.
4.the crust is the outer layer of the earth. It is a thin layer between 0-60km thick. The crust is solid rock layer upon which we live.

There are two different types of crust; continental crust, which carries land, and oceanic crust, which carries water.

1 of 1


No comments have yet been made

Similar Geography resources:

See all Geography resources »See all Rock landscapes and processes resources »