Religious Studies, Key Words.

Key Words for Unit  10 for R.E

HideShow resource information

10.1 - Beliefs & Values.

Key Words

  • Atonement - Reconciliation between God and Humanity.
  • Catechism- The official teaching on the Roman Catholic Church.
  • Compassion- A feeling of pity which makes one want to help the sufferer.
  • Creeds- Statements of Christian belief.
  • Faith- firm belief without logical proof.
  • Incarnation- the belief that God took human form in Jesus.
  • Monothesim- Belief in one God.
  • Repentance- the act of being sorry for wrong doing and promising not to do it again.
  • Salvation- the act of delivering sin, or saving from evil.
  • Trintiy- the belief that God is three in one.
  • Unity- God's way of being one.
  • Virgin Birth- The belief that Jesus was not conceived through sex.
1 of 3

10.2- Community & Tradition.

Key Words

  • Anglicain Churches- Churches that are in communion with Church of England.
  • Apostolic- The belief that the church can only be understood in the light of the Apostles.
  • Bishops- Preists specially chosen by the pope who are responsable for all the churches in a Diocese.
  • Catholic- Universal, Worldwide.
  • Celibacy- Living without any sexual activity.
  • Holy- of, or relating to, God, sacred.
  • Laity- all the people in the church who are not chosen as Bishops, Preists or Deacons.
  • Magesterium- The pope and the bishops interpreting the Bible abd tradition for Roman Catholics today.
  • Nonconformist Churches- Protestant Christians seperated from the Church of England.
  • Ordination- Making someone a Preist, Bishop or Deacon by the sacrament of holy orders.
  • Orthordox Churches- National Churches which are in union with the Patriarch of Constantinople.(i.e. the Russain Orthordox Church).
  • Papacy- The office of the pope.
2 of 3

10.3- Worship & Celebration.

Key Words

  • Absolution- Through the action of the Preist, God grants pardon & peace.
  • Chrism- the oil used at Baptism, Confirmation & Ordination.
  • Commemoration- The belief that the Eucharist is simply a rememberance of the last supper.
  • Contrition- sorrow for the sin commited & deciding not to sin again.
  • Holy Week- The week before Easter Sunday.
  • Liturgy of the Eucharist- The re-enactment of the Last Supper during which the Bread and Wine are transubstantiated.
  • Liturgy of the Word- The Bible readings in the second part of the mass.
  • Penance- an action to show your contrition.
  • Penitential Rite- the confession & absolution at the beginning of the Mass.
  • Rite of Communion- receiving the Body & Blood of Jesus.
  • Sacrament- an outward sign through which invisible grave is given to a person by Jesus.
  • Transubstantiation- the belief that the Bread & Wine become the Body & Blood of Jesus.
3 of 3


Martin Coleman


Sorry about the few mistakes.

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »