Religious Studies (Living the Muslim Life

  • Created by: WantAnF5
  • Created on: 06-03-18 11:21

The Ten Obligatory Acts of Shi'a Islam

Ten Obligatory Acts are mainly for Shia's
Five Pillars of Islam are mainly for Sunni's

Nature and Purpose of the Acts
- To guide of how they should live their lives
- Allow them to get closer to Allah
- To help Muslims achieve Paradise
- To unite all Shi'a Muslims and give meaning to their lives

The Ten Obligatory Acts                                            Nahi Anil Munkar - Forbidding what is evil
Salah - Prayer 5 times a day                                     Tawalla - Expressing love what is good
Sawm - Fasting during daylight (Ramadam)             Tabarra - Moving away from evil
Zakah - Donating 2.5% of wealth to needy
Hajj - Pilgramage
Khums - Annual Taxation
Jihad - Striving to overcome evil
Amr-bil-Maroof - Instructs Shi'a's to behave

1 of 8

The Shahadah

It is the first pillar of Islam - Shows acceptance of Allah and Muhammad

Nature of Shahadah
It is the basic statement of Islamic faith and Muslims consider thatv anyone cannot recite this is not a Muslim.
It demonstrates loyalty to Allah.

Role of the Shahadah today
- Recited out loud in front of witnesses to profess the Muslim faith
- Said before death to demonstrate a commitment to religion of Islam
- Whispered into the ears of newborn babies, so its the first thing they hear
- Recited throughout the day to remind Muslims of Islamic beliefs of Islam

2 of 8


Salah is the second pillar of Islam and it is to pray 5 times a day.

Naturen, History and Purpose of Salah
Nature = Salah demonstrates unity
History = Prophets of Allah performed it daily and it was commanded by Muhammad
Purpose = Brings Muslims closer to Allah

Divergent Understandings
- Combine 5 prayers into 3
- Raise hands at end of prayers
- Touch foreheads directly to the floor
- 5 Daily Prayers
- Move head from right to left
- May rest their head on a piece of wood

3 of 8


It is the fasting for Muslims and is the fourth pillar of Islam.
Main period of fasting is during through Ramadan

'O ye who believe! Fasting is prescribed for you...' (Surah 2:183)

Significance of Sawm
- One of the 5 Pillars
- Learn to self-discipline
- Gives Muslims to appreciate what Allah has given
- Helps to appreciate the Quran's being
- Brings Muslim community closer

Forbidden from Sawm
- No Food
- No Smoking
- No Sexual Activity
- No bad thoughts or deeds

4 of 8


Zakah is the third pillar of Islam and is to give money to charity.

It is an Obligatory giving.
It involves giving 2.5% to the poor.
It shows the idea of charitable actions.

Imporance of Zakah for Sunni Muslims 
- One of the 5 Pillars = Duty
- Wealth is believed to be gifte
- Sign of Unity and supports Umah
- Helps those who need it the most

5 of 8


Khums is a religious tax

It is one of the Ten Obligatory Acts.
It is paying 20% of income - half to Ummah and to the poor.
The form of giving is mentioned in the Qu'ran.

Importance of Khums to Shi'a Muslims
- Gives special recognition to Muhammad
- Used to help the poor
- One of the Ten Obligatory Acts

6 of 8


It is the fifth pillar of Islam and is the annual pilgramage of Makkah

It is a holy journey where most Muslims are expected to make.
It is intended to get Muslims to get closer to Allah.

Benefits of Hajj
- Shows commitment to Allah
- Strengthens Ummah
- To ask forgiveness

Challenges of Hajj
- May be unfit or physically unstable
- May be a difficult experience due to the amount of people

7 of 8


Jihad means 'struggle' and has its origin in the Qu'ran.

Greater Jihad
Inner struggle to be a better muslim by:
- Studying Qur'an
- Doing good deeds
- Attending Mosque regularly

Lesser Jihad
Outer struggle to defend Islam
- Fought for a just cause
- Fought as a last resort
- Aims to restore peace and freedom

8 of 8




Best One Yet!!!!! :)



its bad

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Islam resources »