Quarks & Leptons

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Murray_R
  • Created on: 12-12-13 20:39

Particles & Classification

  • Muon= Heavy electron(same charge but x200 mass)
  • Pion=positive or neutral larger rest mas than a muon but less than a proton
  • Kaon= positive negative or neutral greater mass than a pion but less than a pion

These are divided into two groups Hadrons(Protons,neutrons, pie mesons & k mesoms) & Leptons(electrons,muons & nutrinos) according to weather or not they act throught strong interaction

  • Leptons interact throught thr weack and electro magnetic interaction if charges
  • Hadrons interact throught stong and electromagnetic if charged hadrons decay throught weack interaction

Hadrons can also be split into two groups

  • Baryons-Protons and things that decay in to proton (3 quarks)
  • Mesoms-hadrons that dopnot include a proton in there decay (2 quarks)

in an interaction between a hadron & lepton a nutrino or antinutrino can change into or friom a corrisponding charged lepton. in muon decay the muon changes into a muon nutrino in addition an electron antinutrino are created to conserve charge

1 of 3

Quarks & Anti Quarks

  • Strangness- stange particles decay in weack interanction and are alays conserved in strong interaction
  • Mesons-these hadron each consist of a quarck and an antiquark (Below)
  • Baryons-there are three quarrks in baryons
  • beta decay
2 of 3

Consrevation rules

  • Consrevation of energy and consivation & of charge apply to ALL changes
  • Consevation rules are only used for particle antiparticle interactions and decay
    Conservation of lepton number-the total lepton number of each brance has to be equal
    Conservation of strangness-in strong interaction strangness is always conseverd
  • Baryon numbers have to equal each othe on each side
3 of 3


No comments have yet been made

Similar Physics resources:

See all Physics resources »See all Particle physics resources »