Music AOS1 Set work 2

Classical Music

HideShow resource information

Classical Music Key Features


Crescendos and Diminuendos used

Piano and Clarinet invented

Less Ornamentation

Strings are most important section

Clear, simple structures and phrasing

Homophonic textures

Diatonic= no chromatisism

Concerto= for soloist and orchestra

Symphonies have 4 movements        

Sonatas are for 1 (or 2) instrument(s)

1 of 2

1st Movement from Symphony No. 40 in G Minor- Moza

Mozart was Austrian.             Written in 1788.         To be played in a large room.

In G minor.                   Diatonic harmony.        4/4 throughout.      Dynamic changes mostly sudden.

In sonata form: Exposition, Development, Recapitulation

No timpani. Only brass is 2 French Horns in different keys- maximises range. (Clarinets added in our version)

Mainly homophonic.      Some examples of imitation + counterpoint.        Many 8ve doublings.

Molto Allegro.             4 or 8 bar phrases.             No introduction.  

Exposition: Modulates to Bb major, piano (dynamic) at start, pedal notes from cello, circle of 5ths progression in 2nd subject.   Bridge + Codetta

Development: More chromatic, starts in F sharp minor, 

Recap: Passes through Eb, Fm, D. Polyphonic, violins have sequence in canon

Coda: Repeated G minor cadences

2 of 2


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »