Mozart-1st Movement from Symphony No.40 in G minor

1st Movement from Symphony No.40 in G minor

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Bethan
  • Created on: 23-04-12 17:47

General Information

  • written in 17 88
  • written for a small orchestra with no percussion
  • only brass instrument is two French horns
  • in sonata form
  • tempo is molto allegro meaning very fast
1 of 7

Exposition, First Subject

  • No introduction before first idea starts from bar 1 to bar 9 followed by the second idea from bar 9 to bar 14. Both ideas are played by the violins
  • second idea starts with the first three notes from the first idea played a sixth higher
  • marked piano at the start which is unusual for a classical symphony
  • in G minor but modulates to B flat major
2 of 7

Exposition, Bridge Passage

  • forte all the way through with lots of sforzandos 
  • begins in B flat major but has extra chromatic notes to create tension
  • violins play a descending sequence over a tremolo in the lower strings part with sustained notes from the woodwind
3 of 7

Exposition, Second Subject

  • in B flat major though has lots of chromatic notes
  • strings play the theme first then the woodwind repeat it
  • ornaments are used for the first time like trills played by the woodwind
4 of 7

Exposition, Codetta

  • codetta is a mini coda used to finish off the exposition
  • lots of imitation between the clarinet and bassoon
  • key changes back from B flat major to G minor
  • whole of the exposition is repeated
5 of 7


  • based on the first idea from the exposition
  • harmonies are more chromatic
  • begins in F sharp minor but explores lots of different keys
  • lots of pedal points are used
6 of 7


  • first subject is the same as in the exposition
  • bridge passage is longer and has a polyphonic texture and goes through a lot of keys like E flat major, F minor and D major
  • second subject is in G minor and is shared between the woodwind and strings with some ascending chromatic notes in the bass parts
  • the coda is an extended version of the codetta
  • movement finishes with four G minor chords
7 of 7





Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all Mozart resources »