Models of the Universe

Revision notes about Models of the Universe


Models of the Universe

There are two different models of the Universe.

They are:

  • The geocentric model
  • The heliocentric model

The geocentric model is the older of the two and was created by the ancient Greek astronomer Ptolemy. The model has the Earth at the centre.

The heliocentric model is the newer model and was created by the Polish astronomer Nicolaus Copernicus. This model has the Sun at its centre. The Church disapproved of this model. Galileo discovered four of Jupiter's moons, which showed that not all objects in space orbited the Earth.

The heliocentric model is the accepted model in modern society.

1 of 1


No comments have yet been made

Similar Science resources:

See all Science resources »See all Physics resources »