HideShow resource information

Mitosis summary

Mitosis is a part of the cell cycle in which chromosomes in a cell nucleus are separated into two identical sets of chromosomes, and each set ends up in its own nucleus

1 of 9

Mitosis phases #1 - interphase

Chromosmes duplicate and the copies remain attatched to each other.

2 of 9

Mitosis phases #2 - prophase

In the Nucleus chromosmes condense and become visible. In the cytoplasm, the spindle forms.

3 of 9

mitosis phases #3 - promatephase

The nucleur membrane breaks apart, and the spindle starts to interact with the chromosomes.

4 of 9

mitosis phases #4 - Metaphase

The copied chromosomes become copied in the middle of the spindle.

5 of 9

Mitosis phases #5 - Anaphase

Chromosomes seperate and become two identically genaratically groups and move to opposite ends of the spindle.

6 of 9

Mitosis phases #6 - Telophase

Nucleur membranes start to form around each of the two sets of chromosomes, the chromosmes begin to spread out, and the spindle begins to break down.

7 of 9

Mitosis phases #7 - Cytokinsis

The cell splits into two daughter cells, each with the same number of chromosomes as the parent. In humans, such cells has copies of 23 chromosomes and this is called Diploid.

8 of 9

Mitosis Phases summary

#1 - interphase

#2 - prophase

#3 - promatephase

#4 - metaphase

#5 - anaphase

#6 - telophase

#7 - Cytokinsis

9 of 9




Really good and useful resource! 5-stars!!!

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Mitosis resources »