Henry VIII's Ten Articles

HideShow resource information

Five Doctrinal Changes

1) Holy Scriptures and the Three Crees are basis and summary of the true Christian Faith

2) Baptism conveys remissions of sins and the regenerating grace of the Holy Spirit. It is necessary for children and adults.

3) Penance consists of contrition, confession and reformation

4) Body and blood of Christ is present in the bread and wine of the Eucharist (transubstantiation)

5) Justification is remission of sin and reconciliation to God by merits of Christ, however good works are necessary

1 of 2

Five Ceremonial Changes

1) Images are not objects of worship but objects of remembrance

2) Saints are to be honoured as examples of life and furthering prayer (no cults)

3) Saints may be invoked as intercessors, holydays should be observed

4) Ceremonies observed for mystical signification and as conducive to devotion

5) Prayers for dead are useful but the efficiency of papal pardon and of soul-masses offered at certain localities aren't

2 of 2


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all Tudor resources »