Common law courts

HideShow resource information

Curia Regis

Curia Regise created Royal Courts to deal with particular types of ases in which royal justice was sought. They developed in the following order:

Court of Exchequer

Court of Common Pleas

Court of Kings Bench

1 of 4

Court of Exchequer

  • Created by Henry I.
  • Concerned with financial and revenue matters such as dealing with disputes over taxation.
2 of 4

Court of Common Pleas

  • Created by Henry III in answer to a promise to Magna Carta (1215) to have a fixed place of settlemtn of 'common pleas'.

  • Court dealt with civil disputes e.g. land.

  • Legal costs high so generally just wealthy landowners could afford to bring in actions.

  • Abolished by Judicature Acts 1873-75.
3 of 4

Court of Kings Bench

  • Criminal and civil cases.

  • Could hear appeals from other courts.

  • Close connection with monarch: King.

  • In Judicature Acts this court's powers were transferred to Queen's Bench Division of the High Court.
4 of 4


No comments have yet been made

Similar Law resources:

See all Law resources »See all Common law resources »