Buddhism Beliefs and Practices.

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Emily
  • Created on: 10-11-12 15:41

Eight Fold Path.

Right Action- not acting in a way to harm others or yourself - good kamma and helps follow the 5 precepts.

 Right Speech - not speak in ways to hurt others e.g lies - good kamma and helps follow the 5 precepts.

Right Livelihood - only get a job that doesn't harm others e.g not a butcher - good kamma.

Right Effort - make an effort to put aside negative thoughts and replace with good ones - complete other aspects of the path and meditation would be impossible.

Right Mindfulness - being mindful and award of yourself and everything around you - help Buddhists understand how their actions effect others.

Right Concentration - needed for meditation --> calm and gain insight - hopefully lead to enlightenment.

1 of 10

Eight Fold Path.

Right View - understanding what life really is and therefore understanding Dhamma - understand Dhamma and increase chances of enlightenment. 

Right Intention - motivation behind your actions - underpins rest of path and without it = no kamma. 

2 of 10

Four Noble Truths.

1. Dukkha (suffering) part of everyday life:

  • Problems we need to overcome.
  • Important because you need to understand to be able to do something about it.

2. Cause of Dukkha is Tanha (craving): 

  • Craving causes suffering because we are becer satistfied with what we have.
  • Important because once you know the cause of suffering, you can try and stop it.

3. Way to overcome Dukkha is to overcome Tanha:

  • We need to overcome Tanha to stop Dukkha.
  • Finding happiness inside ourselves rather than craving.
  • Important because it tells us how to overcome the problem.

4. Way to overcome Tanha is taking the Middle Way: 

  • Take the middle way between too much and too little.
  • Important because it gives strategies to overcome craving and therefore suffering.
3 of 10

The 5 Khandhas.

Form: the physical body e.g hand.

Sensations: senses through which we experience outside world.

Perception: awareness of imformation out senses give us.

Mental Impulses: reaction to the infroamtion we take in.

Consciousness: thoughs that make us aware we exist. 


  • Help understand that we have no self (anatta).
  • Understanding this will help a Buddhist crave less as they have noone to crave for.
  • Help Buddhist reach Nibanna as craving less = suffer less.
  • Accepting 5 Khandas, you are following Dhamma and this better chance of enlightenment.
4 of 10

3 Marks of Existence.

Anicca; all things are impermanent, everything changes.


Understanding that everything changes, we will not become attatched--> reduce craving and suffering.

Anatta; we have no permanent self because we are always changing.


By understanding anatta we will crave less as we have no one to crave for.

Dukkha; suffering and unsatisfactory nature of life.


Important to accept suffering so we can do something about it.

5 of 10


  • Point at which all craving ceases to exist.
  • It occurs at enlightenment.
  • Those who achieve will cary on living but will no longer suffer.
  • State of peace and happubess once craving has ceased.
  • Only by living middle way will craving be stopped and Nibanna reached.
6 of 10

The Wheel of Life.



Gods: represents effect of receiving good kamma from positive causes.

Asuras: represent anger, hatred and envy towards other people.

Animals: represents basic human instinct. Food, sex and matrial comfort.

Hell: extreme suffering. Result of negative kamma.

Pretas: Hugry ghosts--> human selfishness, never have enough.

Humanity: being able to make choices and understand right and wrong. 

7 of 10

Wheel of Life.

  • There are the three poisons: a pig, a snake and a cockerel.
  • They represent stupidity, hatred and greed.
  • Buddhists see these as the starting point of all human problems.
8 of 10


The Dhammapada is a collection of short sayings- all teachings of the Buddha.

  • 26 Chapters - 423 Verses

Examples include:

"Hatred does nont stop hatredl only love stops it. This is an ancient law"

9 of 10

The Tipitaka.

"3 Baskets" --> 3 collections of Buddhist texts. 


  • Teachings of the Buddha.
  • Dhammapada is part of the suttas.

Vinaya Pitaka: 

  • Rules of the monastic sangha.
  • Must stick to rules to gain good kamma = better rebirth.


  • The interpretations of the teachings.
  • For example, each khanda is divided up. There are 28 different forms etc..
10 of 10




perfect, wish thee was a 10 star rating

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Buddhism resources »