Buddhism (year 9)

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Sophia
  • Created on: 10-05-13 19:06

Life of the Buddha

  • Mother had prophecy of his birth
  • Born as a rich, priviledged prince
  • Saw suffering - made him realise everyone suffers and everyone will die
  • Left all lucuries to live life as an ascetic
  • Looking for the answer to why people suffer
  • Sat underneath the Bodhi tree for years meditating
  • Finally found the answer and was enlightened
1 of 11

Buddha's Enlightenment

  • The Buddha lived both a life of luxury AND a life of an ascetic, so had experienced the most extreme aspects of life.
  • He decided that neither of these lifestyles were correct and that the way to find enlihgtenment was to find the Middle Way.
  • By thinking through life in a strategic and logical way, Sidhartha Gotama reached Enlightenment
2 of 11

The 3 Universal Truths

These were the answers that the Buddha came up with to the question 'Why do we suffer?'

Anicca- Everything is impermanent and is always changing eg. your hair is growing etc.

Anatta- Nothing has an identity

Dukkha- Not being satisfied with anything

3 of 11

The Four Noble Truths

1. All beings suffer

2. Suffering has a cause and that cause is craving

3. It is possible to escape suffering

4. There is a path to freedom from suffering-The Middle Way

4 of 11

The Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path explains to people how to live the middle way,the way to overcome suffering or being unsatisfied.

1. Right Understanding- understanding the key Buddhist teachings

2. Right Intention- doing things for the right reasons

3. Right Speech- no lying,swearing, gossiping or two-timing

4. Right Action- no killing, injuring,stealing or sexual misconduct

5. Right Effort- making an effort to abandon negative thinking

6. Right Livelihoodearning your living in a way that doesnt harm anything/anyone

7. Right Mindfulness-keeping the mind calm and peaceful (not distracted)

8. Right Concentration- concentrating mind on a calm and peaceful state

5 of 11

Ten Negative Actions


  • Killing 
  • Stealing 
  • Sex with someone else's partner


  • Lying
  • Saying things that hurt others
  • Saying things to cause divisions between people
  • Gossiping


  • Harmful thoughts
  • Wishing something that belonged to someone else
  • Holding wrong views
6 of 11


Karma-All actions have consequences (what goes around comes back around)

If a buddhist does a bad action it will come back round to them and something bad will happen to them.

If a buddhist does a good action it will come back round to them and something good will happen to them.

7 of 11

Life after Death

1. Samsara says that the world is like a great wheel- the wheel of life and death

2. The Hindu belief is that everyone has a soul (atman) that moves on to inhabit another body

3. They don't believe that your soul is passed on, its your 'energy'

4. They don't use the term 'reincarnation' as it implies that a soul comes to inhabit a new body. They use the term 'rebirth' or 'rebecoming'

5. Buddhists believe that you can sometimes remember your past life

6. It's not people's fault that they were born into a bad circumstance, it's their karma or energy's fault.

8 of 11


Nirvana- Describes the point when all suffering ceases to exist as all desires have been extinguished

A person can achieve Nirvana in their lifetime. It would mean you live in a state of pure peace and happiness

Ultimately it means you escape the wheel of Samsara and will never be reborn again.

9 of 11

Wheel of Samsara


10 of 11

The Buddhist Community

Sangha- The Buddhist Community

Upasakas- People who live a normal Buddhist life

Bhikkus- People who live in monastries/ nunnaries

11 of 11


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Buddhism resources »