Section B for Area of study one: 1st movement from Symphony No. 40 in G major

Break down of all the different points possibly asked for '1st movement from Symphony No. 40 in G major' by Mozart in section B. Hope it helps :)

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Cora H
  • Created on: 09-05-12 12:34
Preview of Section B for Area of study one: 1st movement from Symphony No. 40 in G major

First 335 words of the document:

1st movement from Symphony No. 40 in G major
W.A. Mozart
Written: 1788
In this piece there is a violin (1), violin (2), viola, violoncello, two oboes, two
clarinets, two bassoons, a flute and two horns. The string section is the same as
the Baroque era, however there are more, and the clarinet and horns are
transposing instruments.
This piece is in sonata form, with 3 main sections; the exposition, development
and recapitulation. Within the exposition (bars 1-100) there are 4 mini sections.
The first section begins with the first idea from bar 1-9, and then the second
idea is heard in bars 9-14. Both ideas are played by violins, played in octaves.
Subject one:
The first 3 notes of the first idea are repeated throughout the first subject, and
the second subject starts with the same notes, but a 6th higher. The movement
is marked `p', at the beginning, unusual in classical music. The first subject is in G
minor, but modulates to Bb minor when the first subject is repeated.
After the first subject is a bridge. This section (bars 28-43) is marked `f'
throughout with a lot of `sfz' marked in. The section begins in Bb major, with
added chromatic notes for tension. The violins play a descending sequence in
the bridge over a lower string playing a tremolo with sustained notes from the
upper woodwind. The second
Subject two:
The second subject comes after the bridge passage (bars 44-72). The second
subject is in Bb major although a lot of chromatic notes are also played. The
strings begin by playing the theme, and then the woodwind takes over.
Mozart uses ornaments for the first time here. The woodwinds play trills. The
second subject starts with dotted rhythms, but the first subject uses quavers
and mainly moves in steps.

Other pages in this set

Page 2

Preview of page 2

Here's a taster:

The codetta is also part of the exposition. It is used to end the exposition and
uses a lot of imitation between the clarinet and bassoon. The key returns to G
minor and the whole of the exposition is repeated.
After the exposition is the development. All the music is based on the
exposition but the harmonies are more chromatic. The development begins in
F# but explores lots of different keys, and Mozart uses many pedal points.…read more


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all resources »