Slides in this set

Slide 1

Preview of page 1

Prelude and
Fugue in A Op.87
Shostakovich…read more

Slide 2

Preview of page 2

Composed by Dimitri Shostakovich (1906 ­ 1975),
a major Russian 20th Century composer and
The 24 Preludes and Fugues for Piano, were
composed in 1950-51 after visiting Leipzig for the
commemoration of the 200th anniversary of Bach's
death; one in every key!
Op. 87 may sometimes be referred to as neo-
classical because of the debt to earlier music.…read more

Slide 3

Preview of page 3

Performing Forces
Written for solo piano
Grade 8 standard!
Both movements exploit a wider range than
what was customary to the 19th Century,
with very low notes being particularly
Both movements range from E just below
the stave to G flat (F#) five octaves higher.…read more

Slide 4

Slide 5

Preview of page 5

Functional with some ambiguosity ­ Bar 10
Begins in A major
E major (V key) ­ Bar 6
Back to A major ­ Bar 7
C# minor ­ Bar 13
A flat major ­ Bar 19
D flat major ­ Bar 20
Tonic pedal ­ Bar 1
Dominant pedal ­ Bar 8…read more

Slide 6

Preview of page 6

Melody-Dominated Homophony
Homophonic 4-part texture ­ Bar 21-11/ End
of the prelude
Generally contrapuntal, but is not strict
Rare dialogue between parts ­ Bar 17-18
Homorhythmic ­ Bar 21-22…read more

Slide 7

Preview of page 7
Preview of page 7

Slide 8

Preview of page 8
Preview of page 8

Slide 9

Preview of page 9
Preview of page 9

Slide 10

Preview of page 10
Preview of page 10


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »