Pillars of Islam

Hope this helps you with the understanding the 5 Pillars of Islam. They are my personal notes that I have made with research. 

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: asma
  • Created on: 21-07-13 13:11
Preview of Pillars of Islam

First 333 words of the document:

Pillars of Islam
1st Pillar of Islam ­ Shahadah
This is the first pillar of Islam even though it is the only `non-action' pillar. It is the central pillar and helps muslims build
up their Imaan.
This central pillar means: There is no god but Allah and Muhammad (SAW) is the true messenger of Allah. There are the
words of the Shahadah, the Muslim creed. They sum up all you have to believe to be a Muslim ­ the unity of God and
the prophethood of Muhammad. From these two simple beliefs all the other beliefs are really derived ­ the unity of
creation and humanity, the vice-regency of humans, angels, prophets, holy books.
When a Muslim recites this they proclaim:
That Allah is the only God, and that Muhammad is his prophet.
That they personally accept this as true.
That they will obey all the commitments of Islam in their life.
If you accept Muhammad as the prophet of God, then you accept the Qur'an as the is why if someone converts to
Islam, all they have to do to show their conversion is repeat the Shahadah in front
It is also recited three times by a person who is converting to Islam, so that they become a Muslim bvy reciting the
Shahadah, but in fact they need to have an understanding and believe in Tawhid (the oneness of Allah). This shows the
importance as for a person to convert only the Shahadah allows them to accept Islam from the heart truthfully.
And also, by understanding the Shahadah you believe that there is only one God who is Allah, and you are rejecting the
other religions. It also reminds Muslims that the Prophet Muhammad (SAW) is the messenger of Allah and that he is not
at the same status of Allah. The Shahadah is also included in the five prayers and the Adhaan.

Other pages in this set

Page 2

Preview of page 2

Here's a taster:

What does Salah mean?
Salah is the second pillar of Islam and it is the prayer that should be performed five times a day and for the men
preferably in mosque. The five prayers Salah incudes' the Shahadah which affirms that "There is no God but Allah, and
Muhammad (SAW) is his messenger".
When the Prophet Muhammad (SAW) when on the Mi'raj that is when the five prayers were confirmed.…read more

Page 3

Preview of page 3

Here's a taster:

Muslim scholar regard Salah as the most important pillar and according to a Hadith, Prophet Muhammad
(SAW) said, "Salah is the pillar of the Islamic religion and whoever abandons it, demolishes the very pillar
of religion".
7. Prevents the believer from great sins of every kind and from disbelief.
8. Washes out sins that have been committed, but Salah should be performed with understanding and from
the heart.
9. Praying Salah is one of the greatest cause to enter Paradise.
10.…read more

Page 4

Preview of page 4

Here's a taster:

What is Zakah?
Zakah is one of the five pillars of Islam and it is a duty that is performed on a regular basis. In Islam Muslim believes that
wealth has been given by Allah for the benefit of humanity, so it is compulsory for a Muslim believer that the wealth
has to be shared with those in need. It is also regarded as an annual tax on wealth.…read more

Page 5

Preview of page 5

Here's a taster:

Teaches people that everything is God's and that it is a loan from him and we do not own anything
o And since it is not ours we will not die with it so we don't have to cling on to it
Recognising whether we are rich or poor is God's choice
o So it is a Muslims duty to those who have been chosen by God to be poor
Learning self-discipline
Freeing from the love of wealth and greed
Freeing oneself from the love…read more

Page 6

Preview of page 6

Here's a taster:

Pillar of Islam ­ Sawm
Sawm is the third pillar of Islam and it means fasting. Muslims fast during the holy month of Ramadhan, every single day
from dawn till dusk (this is the time when they open their fast).…read more

Page 7

Preview of page 7

Here's a taster:

Pillar of Islam ­ Hajj
Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam, and it is the Muslim pilgrimage to Makkah that takes place during the last month of the
year. Every Muslim goes there and worships the Kabaah. It occurs in the month of Dhul Hijjah which is the twelfth month
of the Islamic lunar calendar. It is the journey that every sane adult Muslim must undertake at least once in their lives if
they can afford it and are physically able.…read more

Page 8

Preview of page 8

Here's a taster:

Go to Jamarat ­ stone shaitaan
At Mina eid ul adha is celebrated ­ reminds muslims they should give up their woprldly posseswssions for the poor
Many men shave their head ­ women cut about two fingers of hair from the tip.
Reasons for Hajj, other than those in the Qur'an
1. For many Muslims the main reason for going on Hajj is that this is what the Prophet did. Everything they do onlv
Hajjis following the footsteps of the Prophet Muhammad (SAW).
2.…read more



Similar Islamic Studies resources:

See all Islamic Studies resources »See all resources »