Pages in this set

Page 1

Preview of page 1
An atom of any given element consists of a nucleus containing a
number of protons and neutrons. The nucleus is surrounded by
The halflife of a radioactive isotope is the time taken for half its
radioactive atoms to decay.
There are three main types of radiation, called alpha, beta…

Page 2

Preview of page 2

1 proton, 0 neutron, 1 electron
1. Back
2. 1
3. 2
4. 3
5. Next

The different isotopes of an element have identical chemical properties.
Some isotopes, however, are radioactive. This means that they give out
radiation from their nuclei. This happens all the time, whatever is…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Physics resources:

See all Physics resources »