stages of mitosis ...

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: flower123
  • Created on: 06-04-12 23:45
Preview of Mitosis

First 246 words of the document:

It produces two daughter nuclei that have the same number of chromosomes as the parent cell and
each other.
Stages of mitosis:
1. Interphase: the chromosomes are invisible and also DNA replicates
2. Prophase: chromosomes become visible and nuclear envelope disappears
3. Metaphase: spindle fibres form and the chromosomes line up on the equator of cells
4. Anaphase: spindle fibres attached to chromatids which contracts pulling chromosomes at
opposite poles
5. Telophase: nuclear envelope reforms and spindle fibres disintegrate
Mitosis is important for the following reasons:
Growth: the two haploid cells fuse
together to form a diploid cell, this diploid
cell has all the genetic information
needed to form an organism Mitosis
ensures that the organisms cell contains
same set of genetic information as
the parents (Which means that the organism will resemble its parents)
cells differentiate to give
specialised cells. These cells
divide y mitosis to give
tissue made up of identical
cell which perform a
particular function.
Repair: if the cells die or are damaged, it is important that the new cells have identical
structure and function to the ones lost. If they are not exact copies of the ones that are
damaged or lost tissue would not function efficiently as before. Therefore mitosis is the
means by which new cells replace the damaged or dead ones


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all resources »