Biology Classifications

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Max123
  • Created on: 18-03-13 21:17
Preview of Biology Classifications

First 184 words of the document:

Linnaeus's Binomial system: this is a 2 name system. The first name is the genus and the second defines the particular species in the genus.
A Hierarchical system: Placing organisms into groups based on shared features is taxonomy. This is a series of nested groups (taxa), in which the
members all share one or more common features (homologies)
Kingdom K
Phylum P
Class Crisps
Order Our
Family Favourite
Genus Great
Species Snack
There are 5 Kingdoms
ANIMALIA: multicellular eukaryotes that are heterotrophs, organism that obtain energy as `ready-made' organic molecules by ingesting material
from other organisms.
PLANTE: multicellular eukaryotes that are autotrophs, organisms that make their own organic molecules by photosynthesis.
FUNGI: multicellular eukaryotes that are heterotrophs, which absorb nutrients from decaying matter after external digestion.
PROTOCTISTA: eukaryotes that photosynthesise of feed on organic matter from other sources but are not included in the other kingdoms.
PROKARYOTE: Prokaryotic organisms, including the bacteria and blue-green bacteria.

Other pages in this set

Page 2

Preview of page 2

Here's a taster:

The THREE DOMAIN classification system has been proposed based on new data which came from MOLECULAR PHYLOGENY.
Phylogeny is the study of the evolutionary history of groups of organisms ­ it tells us which species are related to which and how closely related they
are. MOLECULAR PHYLOGENY looks at molecules (DNA and proteins) to see how closely related organisms are.…read more


No comments have yet been made

Similar Science resources:

See all Science resources »See all resources »