1st Movement from Symphony 40 in G Minor (Basic Analysis)

A useful table full of general information on Mozart's 1st Movement from Symphony 40 in G Minor.


(M= melody A= Accompaniment D= Dynamics T= Texture S= Structure H= Harmony              I= Instruments R= Rhythm T= Tonality S= Speed)

Useful for anyone doing the GCSE Edexcel Music course... enjoy! :)

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Jessica
  • Created on: 05-05-12 15:26
Preview of 1st Movement from Symphony 40 in G Minor (Basic Analysis)

First 270 words of the document:

Jessica Mozart Madtshirts
Melody Mozart uses Melodic Themes:
1. First heard in the Violins ­ a falling pattern (2x quavers &
2. Shared between woodwind and strings ­ descending, chromatic
Accompaniment Other instruments such as flute and oboe accompany the main melody
Dynamics Begins piano and finishes off forte
Includes dynamics such as sf
Texture Mainly Homophonic
But is also...
Imitation, doubling in octaves and dialogue between strings and
Structure Part of a 4-movement composition (Symphony 40 in G
1st movement Sonata Form Molto Allegro
2 Ternary or Andante
movement Variation form
3rd movement Minuet or Scherzo Allegretto
4th movement Rondo, Variation Allegro Assai
or Sonata form
Sonata Form:
Harmony The harmony is diatonic and functional
Use of chromatic chords (diminished 7th and augmented 6th)
Perfect cadence repeated by full orchestra in the Coda, at the end
Strings Woodwind Brass Percussion
Violins (x2) Flute (x2) Trumpet (x2) Timpani
Viola Oboe (x2) French Horns
Cello Clarinet (x2)
Double Bass Bassoon (x2)
Rhythm The first rhythm of 2 quavers and 1 crotchet beat is heard continually
Syncopated Rhythm created by dotted rhythms occasionally
Tonality G minor overall but does modulate to the relative major of Bb major in
the 2nd subject.
In the development section the piece modulates to F sharp minor, E
minor, C major, F major, A minor, D minor etc...
Speed In 4/4
Molto Allegro (Very Fast)

Other pages in this set

Page 2

Preview of page 2

Here's a taster:

Jessica Mozart Madtshirts
1st Movement from Symphony No.40 in G minor
Other information:
Composed by W.A Mozart in 1788, during the classical era.
The clarinets were added later.
The orchestra grew largely since the Baroque era.…read more


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all resources »