What are the 3 stages of labour?

  • 0 votes

Please can someone tell me what the 3 stages of labour are please?

Posted Tue 22nd May, 2012 @ 18:58 by Fern Ring-Davies

1 Answer

  • 2 votes

the first stage of labour is.. the muscles in the uterus gradually open up the cervix to 8-10cm. this is wide enough for the baby's head to pass through. 

the second stage is very strong contractions push the baby along the birth canal (which is formed by the uterus, cervix and vagina) .. the mother then has an urge to push.. the midwife gives guidance so that the head is born gradually.. after the head emerges the body slides out easily the umbilical cord is cut the baby is now a separate person

the third stage of labour is when an injection of oxytocin may be given to the mother to stop excessive bleeding and to help the placenta and the remaining cord to be delivered quickly, this takes 5-15 minutes

i got this from my child care revsion book.. hope it helps :) good luck with your exam on monday :D  

Answered Tue 22nd May, 2012 @ 19:30 by Nikki