• Created by: Q_
  • Created on: 31-03-19 11:17
View mindmap
    • The USA is a federal state in which law-making power is divided between two tiers of government: the federal government (located in Washington DC) and the government of the 50 states of the USA.
      • The UK is a unitary state, but since devolution it has taken on quasi-federal features.
    • The two tiers of government in the USA are protected by the constitution. Their powers are inalienable and one tier of government cannot abolish the other.
      • The division of powers can only be altered by amendment to the constitution which requires special procedures.
        • In the UK, Westminster retains parliamentary sovereignty. In practice, parliament haas recognised that it no longer has authority over devolved policies.
    • Powers reserved to the US federal government include defence, foreign policy, the US currency and the US single market.
      • Relatively few powers are reserved exclusively to the states (e.g. local taxes), but power is shared between the federal and state government in many areas (e.g. criminal and civil law, health and education).
        • Westminster has reserved powers over issues such as defence, foreign policy, the constitution and UK currency.


No comments have yet been made

Similar Government & Politics resources:

See all Government & Politics resources »See all The state, nation and sovereignty resources »