The Treaty Of Versailles 

  • Created by: Ria22
  • Created on: 15-04-15 17:41
View mindmap
  • The Treaty Of Versailles
    • The Treaty of Versailles was signed on 28 June 1919
    • It consisted of 440 Articles
      • It set out the punishments Germany would have to have
        • Germany was punished so badly because of all the destruction and economic problems they had caused
    • Military restrictions
      • Germany was restricted to 100,000 men
      • They were only allowed 6 battle ships, and no submarines
      • Germany was not allow to have any armed forces
    • Loss of land
      • Alsace-Lorraine was returned to France
      • Rhineland was demilitarise, German forces weren't allowed to go there
      • Saar went to France for 15 years
      • Lands in eastern  Germany were given to Poland
      • Germany was forbidden to unite with germany
    • War Guilt Clause: Germany was responsible for causing ALL the damage and loss
    • All German colonies were given to France and England
    • Germany had to pay reparations of 6.6 billion
      • The Dawes and Young Plans re-scheduled Germany's payments
    • Germany was not allowed to join the League of Nations
    • The Treaty of Versailles was a "dictated peace" as Germany was not allowed to negotiate the terms.
    • The Treaty of Versailles was unpopulr, with the germans and people who drew it up
      • peace makers left the conference feeling like the treaty wouldn't cause peace.
    • historians believe the treaty was the cause of WW2
    • Opinions?
      • The Germans hated everything about the treaty
      • Britain gained some German colonies and the German navy was destroyed
      • France got Alsace-Lorraine, German colonies, harsh reparations and a tiny German army




helpful!! thanks

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all Causes and effects of WW1 resources »