The Treaty of Versailles 1919

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: NWILKA1
  • Created on: 26-05-14 11:01
View mindmap
  • The Treaty of Versailles 1919
    • Territorial changes
      • Alsace and Lorraine were returned and France.
      • L of N were to control the Saar for 15 years, but France controlled the coal fields.
      • Germany lost all land it had taken from Russia in the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk.
      • Germany was forbidden to unite with Austria.
      • Germany lost all it's colonies to Britain and France to rule until they were able to rule themselves.
      • West Prusisia, Posen and part of Upper Silesia were given to Poland.
    • Military restrictions
      • German army was limited to 100,000 men.
      • Conscriptionwas banned' all soldiers had to be volunteers.
      • Germany was not allowed tanks, submarines or aircraft.
      • Germany's navy could only have 6 battleships.
      • Rhineland became a demiliterised zone.
        • No German troops were allowed in the area.
    • War guilt
      • Germany had to accept full      responsibility for the war.
    • Reparations
      • £6.6 million. Germany would pay a certain amount every year over 42 years.
    • The League of Nations
      • Established to maintain peace.
      • Central role was to ensure that the central detail of the T of V were carried out.


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all WW1 resources »