The Organisations of the League of Nations

View mindmap
  • The Organisation of the League of Nations
    • General Assembly
      • Met annually in Geneva, Switzerland as it was a neutral country in WW1
      • Each member state could send up to 3 reps, and each state was allowed to cast one vote
        • All decisions had to be unanimous
      • Main role was to decide general policies and organise the LON's finances.
    • The Council
      • Smaller body - main function was to settle political disputes between nations
        • Met a total of 107 times between 1920-1939
      • Permanent Members
        • 4 original: Britain, France, Japan and Italy
          • Germany became a 5th member after joining the League in 1926
      • Non-Permanent Members
        • Initially were to be 4, elected every 3 years by General Assembly
        • First: Belgium, Brazil, Greece and Spain
    • The Secretariet
      • Carried out the day-to-day work of the league, publishing reports and dealing with routine but vital matters
      • Based in Geneva and directed by a secretary-general,first was Sir Eric Drummond (held post 1919-1933)
    • The Permanent Court of International Justice
      • Designed to deal with the legal disputes between states
      • Consisted of 15 judges of different nationalities who were elected for a period of nine years by the General Assembly
      • Ran from 1922 to 1946
    • Commissions and Committees
      • A number were established to deal with specific problems
      • Commissions dealt with issues such as Mandates, disarmament, refugees and slavery
      • Committees for matters relating to international labour, health, child welfare, drug problems and women's rights


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all Search for International Peace and Security resources »