The New Committee of Public Safety

HideShow resource information
View mindmap
  • The New Committee of Public Safety
    • Formed between July and September 1793
    • Twelve members, either Montagnards or deputies from the Plain
      • 8 lawyers and 2 engineers
    • No chairman
    • First strong government since the revolution began
    • Formed after June 2nd, most deputies feared the Montagnards because of the way they dealt with the Girondin's
      • But they didn't want the Republic overthrown so they were acomplacies of the Montagnards/Jacobin minority


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all France 1589-1850 resources »